Book Review: Checkmate: This is Reckless by Kennedy Fox

IMG_6828

Rating: 5 Bookworms

You guys I’m so excited to finally share with you my review of Checkmate: This is Reckless by Kennedy Fox! This dynamite duo have done it again with their latest release and they’re not done yet! Kennedy Fox has managed to do what many authors strive for: they get better with every release (pun intended). I’m so honored and humbled to be a part of their Instafam; these ladies sure know how to spoil us! Now without further ado here’s my review of Checkmate: This is Reckless.

Goodreads Synopsis

Drew Fisher is the type of guy every girl wants.
Noble police officer by day, charming prince by night.
He has no idea the effect he has on women, especially me—his little sister’s best friend.

I’m the blonde Southern belle who lives up to the cliché, except I have my own quirks. I’m smart as a whip, can change my own oil, and recite The Pledge of Allegiance backward, but he doesn’t see that girl.

It’d be easier to forget him if he wasn’t my roommate and if the first thing I saw in the morning wasn’t his shirtless body covered in tattoos. I’ve crushed on him since the day we met, but he’s made it perfectly clear where we stand. Just friends.

I know I need to move on and accept that his feelings will never be mutual, but every day he smiles at me, I’m left dreaming of what if.

He has girl issues, and I’ve got a crush I can’t deny.
We’re friends, but I want more.

One drunken hookup leaves us with much more than a platonic friendship. Pretending it never happened proves to be more difficult than anticipated.

A crazy ex-girlfriend, a dangerous war of stolen glances, and passionate kisses leads to the most reckless battle yet. I won’t be a pawn in his game, but I’ll play by his rules if it will show him I’m the one worth breaking them for.

Checkmate, Prince Charming.


My Thoughts

Disclaimer: While this can be read as a standalone I suggest (and Kennedy Fox suggests) that you should read Checkmate: This is War and Checkmate: This is Love before starting this one.

One of my favorite types of books is a friends to lovers romance and that is exactly what you get with This is Reckless. You will absolutely fall in love with Drew and Courtney the way I have and at the end of the book you might have a strange yearning for blueberry muffins…

Oh Drew Drew Drew **happy sigh** there is little I love more than a man in uniform, throw in the handcuffs and Drew becomes sex personified in my mind (he’s also nice and caring and just all around perfect). Unfortunately, Drew has bad taste when it comes to the opposite sex. Case in point: he’s been dating Mia, she devil from hell, for the past couple of years even though everybody he is close to hates her. Typical guy right? Usually when a boy is as clueless about love as Drew is I get annoyed fairly quick but there was something about Drew that kept reeling me back in — I’m sure it had nothing to do with the cuffs he brings home… 

I think every girl can relate to Courtney: pining after a boy, stress eating, and trying to ignore all of the above. I think every girl has been in some sort of relationship limbo at some point (at least I know I have) and when Courtney starts going slightly crazy I could only laugh because been there, done that. Oh and don’t get me started on the stress eating/baking! Sadly so accurate. 

The chemistry between Drew and Courtney is off the charts and leaves readers begging for more. I’m so happy that Kennedy Fox wrote their story because since they were introduced in Checkmate: This is War I knew that I wanted more. They truly wrote the perfect friends to lovers book with compelling characters, humor, drama, and lots and lots of sex. 


Links

Amazon | iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Audible


About the Author

A secret duo of romance authors team up under the USA Today Bestselling pseudonym, Kennedy Fox who share a love of You’ve Got Mail andThe Holiday. When they aren’t bonding over romantic comedies, they like to brainstorm new book ideas. One day, they decided to collaborate and have some fun creating new characters that’ll make your lady bits tingle and your heart melt. If you enjoy romance stories with sexy, tattooed alpha males and smart, independent women, then a Kennedy Fox book is for you!

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Website

Leave a Reply

